Map of South America (sub) Continent

Map of South America (sub) Continent - Printable, Zoomable, and Downloadable, Interactive Map of South America (sub) Continent

Quick Glimpse about South America (sub) Continent

Quick Intro

South America can be considered as the fourth largest continent in the world covering 17.840.000 square kilometres and 12% of the planet’s land. To the east, the region is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and to the west, by the Pacific Ocean. The continent is almost twice as large as Europe in the term of land area. However, some geography experts classify the continent as sub-continent of the Americans.

In fact, its western land is higher than its eastern, consisting of the popular Andes mountain range. Amazon, the second-longest river in the world. 6.400 km) breaks proudly the continent from the top. Geographically speaking, the shape of the continent if seen from above, looks like a bowl, whose periphery has been dominated by mountains. The continent itself consists of mostly highlands, lowlands, and also the great Andes mountain range.

There are 16 countries in the continent which also has seven distinct climate types such as Desert, Grassland, Deciduous forest, Rainforest, Savannah, Mediterranean, and Alpine, with the seasons comprising Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. Regarding South America’s demography, based on the United Nations’ estimation, the current population of the continent has reached 431 million people in 2019, which it is equivalent to 5.6% of the total population of the world, which most of the population ( 83.9%) live in urban areas.

Available Maps in South America (sub) Continent
  1. Argentina

  2. Bolivia

  3. Brazil

  4. Chile

  5. Colombia

  6. Ecuador

  7. Falkland Islands

  8. French Guiana

  9. Guyana

  10. Netherlands Antiless

  11. Paraguay

  12. Peru

  13. Suriname

  14. Uruguay

  15. Venezuela